What I’ve learned Playing Basketball with the Guys….

Playing pickup basketball after work has been one of my favorite ways to kill time this summer. As I type this, I am sitting on my bedroom floor recovering from the SEVEN games I ended up playing tonight (we just kept winning and I couldn’t say no). Here are a few things I have learned playing with the guys:

You have to be assertive. If you’re new to the gym and the regular guys don’t know you, you have to be able to ask to be on people’s teams. Just walk up to them confidently and act like you know what you’re doing.

giphy-2

If they ask “can you hoop?” you say: “did you ask any of the other guys that?” and then give them the eye and hair flip. They will find out soon enough.

tumblr_no34ptO2bd1u8noflo1_250

Playing with another girl on your team is hella fun because we both know the universal facial expressions for “you have got to be kidding me”

tumblr_mwm0gluuvL1rqunrlo1_250

There is some frustration that comes with the territory. Sometimes they just won’t pass you the ball. Sometimes they will make themselves look like fools before they let you touch it, but thats on them.

200

Be aggressive. This has never been a problem for me as I am going to body you up every chance I get, but it’s an easy way to show they guys that you’re not messing around.

tumblr_nqndqtemrT1tofduqo1_500

If you’re not a “gettin dirty” kinda girl if you know what I mean, perhaps you’re a shooter and then you can just stand on the perimeter and shoot the lights out. Thats always fun.    giphy

It takes some guts in the beginning, but go for it! I personally prefer to play with guys. Catching people off guard is always fun, and I love walking into male dominated environments and messing with the status quo. It’s always a fun time and it’s a great way to get some cardio in!

P.S To the guy I accidentally punched tonight…sorry dude!

One thought on “What I’ve learned Playing Basketball with the Guys….

Leave a Reply

