Playing an Adult: Morning Edition

For the past two years of my life I have become accustom to waking up at some ungodly hour of the morning. Allowing myself 13 minutes to: go pee, grab a protein bar, put my hair in a bun, pick up my bags that were nicely packed the night before, and head off to practice (I slept in my practice clothes to allow for more sleeping clothes). Now for the first time in a while, that is no longer my life. I do work at 8am three times a week, and give myself a solid 30 minutes to get ready. But twice a week on Tuesday and Thursdays, I try to be an adult.

At 7:30am my first alarm goes off, but no no no it is not time yet. I set a 7 minute snooze, grab my stuffed elephant Benjamin (Kenny) and turn back over.

tumblr_mowyruhpdP1swc8u0o1_500

The quickest 7 minutes of my life just happen and I wake up again to set my 4 minute snooze. During this 4 minutes I try to think of happy, warm cuddly thoughts (I really do this).

tumblr_myz422dCTM1s77o8jo1_400Alright now I’m awake. Kinda. The next step is coffee. I stumble down the steps in search for the Keurig! ( I just bought 50 Dunkin-Donut K-cups from Costco!) With coffee in hand I open my laptop and stare at the bright screen patiently waiting for it to come on.
tumblr_neu05uYOqJ1qm7imdo1_500

Okay, here is the adult part, I read the news!!! First, I start off reading The Skimm, something everyone should try! If you’re looking for a simple way to stay informed of the current happenings in the world, the skimm is it. Every morning they email you the latest “skim” of the world news and its really entertaining, yet informative! After I have a general sense of what is going on, I move to the New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Atlantic to search for other articles I am interested in ( The education articles get most of my attention). I have always been someone who enjoys reading various articles, especially while I have been in college. I actually have another blog post in mind talking about the “love language” my roommates and I share from sending out links to the articles we think the other would find interesting.

So maybe this really isn’t an “adult” thing, but I definitely feel like there is an element of maturity that comes with this. Or maybe I’m just telling myself that I’m cool. Who knows? Really, I just wanted to experience what it is like to gradually start your day, instead of rushing into it with only 13 minutes. So far, it is has been a lovely experience and I hope to stick to it for many mornings to come.

This morning I read: The Demise of Private School, How Testosterone Affects Language, and The Skimm’s Guide to OPEC!

What are your favorite news outlets? Have you read anything good lately?

3 thoughts on “Playing an Adult: Morning Edition

  1. Great stuff! Have you seen Briefing (getbriefing.com)? It offers a refreshing approach to the news, appealing to audiences beyond the Skimm’s niche as it synthesizes and contextualizes the day’s must influential stories in three minutes or less.

    Like

Leave a Reply

