My Thoughts on Becoming a Teacher

Screen Shot 2015-11-15 at 5.20.39 PMI came into my major with a very clear plan of what I wanted to do. At that time, I thought I wanted to run an athletic non-profit for underprivileged kids. The more classes I took and the more informed I became, it just seemed as if I would not be working to address the root problems society deals with. This same reasoning is also why I decided the summer before my freshmen year that becoming an orthopedic surgeon would not evoke the change I was looking to make. The demographic I want to work with since starting this major has not changed, but my service has.

Over the past year I feel like there has been little hints that maybe I should go into reaching. I kept suppressing that idea because I am not currently on a track to graduate with that degree. Well, this year especially the idea became stronger and the Teach for America option came up. I think TFA in theory sounds great, but knowing what I know about the effectiveness of qualified teachers I have a hard time putting myself in a situation that could negatively impact the future of a young student, due to my lack of experience. So then came the idea of going back to school to get certified to teach. I was informed that it might be necessary to have a Bachelors of sciences for these programs..with my first major I’ll be getting a Bachelors of Arts #problem. So I did the only logical thing, I decided that in my 3rd year of college I would double major. Awesome.

One week after deciding I was going to double major, I attended the Career Fair here at school. Usually I don’t go to these as many of the job opportunities don’t apply to me. Well, this time I went, and I talked to one person: the rep from Urban Teachers. You can read more about it here, but I was hooked from the beginning. To me, it sounded like a better version of TFA. I talked to the rep for a solid 20 minutes and she advised me to apply early because as a junior I have the option to defer for a year.

Actually she told me I should apply by the November 9th deadline, but that was way too soon and I needed to think about it some more. But after talking to my mom and some close friends I really think this is the option I am going to pursue. I also chose to wait until the next deadline because I want this semesters grades on my transcript #HopingForA4.0

So yeah guys, thats my life right now. The idea of having a classroom and teaching the babies makes me so happy and I am excited to see how this all turns out.

Leave a Reply

