Do What Makes You Feel Like You & Repeat!

I know it has been a few days since the last posts, but I’ve made it a point to only write when I feel I have something to say. I want it to be organic and genuine. Also, I’m thankful for all the great responses from my last posts. To all the people who reached out and told me how much they enjoyed it, thank you, thank you thank you!

In my last post, I mentioned that moving on can be a long, tough process. One thing I learned was to pay attention to when i’m happy, and to the activities that made me feel like “the old me,” then repeat! So simple right?!

For me, it was going to McDonalds and getting a Big Mac at 10:00pm with a good friend, wearing my hair curly, being loud and silly, exploring new places downtown, taking days for myself to sit in new coffee shops, dancing it out with my roommates, or shopping at Whole Foods. I became mindful of the activities, and people in my life who made me feel like me, and I increasingly tried to incorporate them into my life as often as possible.

So much of this progress came from me becoming mindful of what I really enjoy. I no longer participated in things that I didn’t like and I better used that time for myself. I learned about myself and I stopped doing things for the attention of others.

Last night I  watched the online release party for Shauna Neiquest’s new book, Present Over Perfect!  The whole idea of the book is to be more present in all the moments of life instead of stressing over being perfect which is costly, in terms of time and money spent. We should give up the frantic, expensive, exhausting life, and instead try to be present in the simple moments because that is where real life happens.

This frantic, rushed way of life was how I lived, before the boy situation and during. I thought being busy and everywhere was the goal, that it made me impressive. But no, we don’t have to give into that culture. Life shouldn’t be “measured in numbers, numbers in a bank account, on a credit report, or on a report card, but in the moments we spend in community” (basically memorized that from the small reading she did last night). I’m excited to read this book when it comes out Aug 9th and really embrace this philosophy to an even greater level!

I encourage you all to take note of when you are happy, when you feel like your truest self & REPEAT! Once a day do something that makes you feel like you and I promise you will thank yourself!

xoxo,

‘Lysse

3 thoughts on “Do What Makes You Feel Like You & Repeat!

Leave a Reply

