What I’m Reading: Newsletters & Books

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately. You know why? Because pleasure reading makes me happy, and I’m all about finding things that make me happy and then consistently trying to incorporate them in my life.  Here is what i’m reading right now:

TheSkimm: Y’all know the deal. If you want to be in the know on current events, sign up!

Call Your Girlfriend Newsletter, The Bleed: I love my podcasts, and especially these rad ladies Ann and Aminatou. Listen to their podcast and sign up for their newsletter. They are all about female health and being open about menstruation (!!!), hence the title of their newsletter: “The Bleed.”

Present Over Perfect: Leaving Behind Frantic for a Simpler, More Soulful Way of Living Shauna Niequist is my girl. Her book Bread & Wine was such a spiritual and emotional journey for me and Present Over Perfect has been no different. I’m reading it very slowly, because 1) I don’t want it to be over and 2) I am trying to meditate and incorporate what she is teaching in my own life. I’ll be sure to write more about it when I’m done.

Woman of the Word: How to Study the Bible with Both of Our Hearts  This book has been so so good for me and my relationship with the Lord. Jen Wilkins really pushes you to actually know the Bible and and study it. As women, sometimes we base our relationship off of emotions and how we feel. Jen encourages us to remember that the Bible is not about us and how we feel or even how it can be an answer to all the questions in our life. The Bible is a book about the Lord, and we should always want to learn more about Him so that we can be more like Him. #goals

The Marvelous Pigness of Pigs: Respecting and Caring for all of God’s Creations  This is a book I just started, but the overall concept really caught my attention. Joel Salatin is a 3rd generation farmer for the Shenandoah Valley and maintains and all organic farm, which he provides food for many families in the area. I heard him and Alice Waters speak last week and it really made an impression on me. Especially as my interest in organic food, and farming has increased over the past few months. I will probably end up writing a whole post about this, but this book in particular is about how we as Christians have been called to be “stewards of the earth” and respect all God’s creations. Instead of manipulating His creations for our own convenience, or potential income, etc.

So many books being read and so much homework being put off, hello 4th year.

xoxo,

‘Lysse

 

Leave a Reply

