Community Over Competition

The Rising Tide Society is “a network of creative entrepreneurs who believe in community over competition.” Such a simple and beautiful thing, huh? After I wrote the post In A World Full of Girl Bosses, I have been thinking a lot about the blogging/creative industry. For one, it has definitely fired me up again about my blog, and I have been spending a lot of time thinking of creative content, ways to improve my image quality, and trying to be as real and personable with y’all as possible. When I’m looking at a new blog or even an instagram account I only follow them if I feel like I can “get to know them.” If they are inviting me into their life, I want in. But if they are just posting outfit picture after outfit picture with nothing personal, I’m not as inclined to want to engage with them.

I want to invite y’all into my life, and I also want to welcome other bloggers, photographers, graphic designers,  etc on Lysse on Life. In thinking about being in this world with some many people already killing the game, the start can be the hardest part. I’m still starting and truly getting my feet wet in this community and I want to do all I can to work with others in order to make this a win win situation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This past week I had the opportunity to shoot with Emma, a friend of mine from school. I met Emma this year through Athletes in Action Christian Ministry and specifically through our Rowing Bible Study. From the beginning I could tell what a heart Emma has for the Lord and the people around her, but only later did I find out that she had such an eye for photography!

Taking pictures is awkward, okay? Especially in the middle of downtown, but Emma and Kate, our Creative Director (lol) made it so much fun. All laughs were genuine, thanks to Kate.  We ran through the streets playing Madonna, stopping at cool brick walls or points in the street with good lighting. We turned a basic Tuesday afternoon into an adventurous spring day (especially because we had free Ben & Jerry’s afterwards).

If you live in the Charlottesville area and want to work with Emma, contact her at emmagsharon@gmail.com and while you’re at it follow her on instragram at Emma Grace Photography!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 12.59.22 PM

 

8 thoughts on “Community Over Competition

  1. I’m glad you posted this… It’s really important to remember that we’re stronger together than we are at odds with each other. I love the feeling of community that comes with blogging, even though I’m just getting started!

    Like

    • As a life-long athlete rowing was definitely the hardest thing I ever did. When I look at other people row, especially crossfire athletes I really recommend you nail down your form, that will make all the difference. Watch youtube videos, record yourself, and get a former rower to watch you. Otherwise it is all about improving your cardiovascular strength. Workouts depend on the season, but at some points I would be doing 20k a day, or some days it was more sprint style like 1k x 5.

      Like

  2. I feel the same way! When I read your post about Girl Bosses, I felt an instant connection. I want someone to be real, show me that its not all perfect smiles and beautiful photos. Great post! Btw I agree taking photos is awkward…

    Like

Leave a Reply

