Why it’s Okay to Blog Without a Niche

If you’ve ever read a “how to blog” article there is always a step about finding your niche. They say if you want to be successful you need a niche so you can find your target audience and have engaged readers. You know like decisding whether you are a food blogger, fitness, maybe fashion, or a mommy blogger? With my blog I could never seem to identify one point of my life that I felt I could continuously talk about. Honestly, that’s why my previous blogs have failed. After my Dad died I had a blog about grief. I’m pretty sure at one point I had a blog about my future medical career (lol) but none of those stuck. Why? Because I could only talk about those topics for so long before I ran out of things to say, and my non-exisistent readers at the time just got bored.

Now, this is not to say that people who blog with a particular niche are stagnant, or repetitive or boring. I just know I couldn’t do it, even if it did make my blog more “successful.” Some days I want to share my outfit, some days I want to talk about Jesus, or food or fitness. I just want to share my life and things I think are rad and I want to do that without feeling like I’m “off brand”. As my life continues to evolve, so with this blog. In the next few months I’ll talk more about my life in grad school and teaching. Then one day I’m sure I’ll share a lot about wedding planning and maybe one day Lysse on Life will have a mommy category.

You may be thinking, Alysse, doesn’t this make you a lifestyle blogger? And yeah, maybe you’re right. The lifestyle category includes a wide variety of blogs, but I personally think it leans toward fashion bloggers who sometimes talk about other things. The category is just so large and diverse that any advantage you may get from a niche is basically negated.

I’ve said this before, but I choose to follow people because of their personality, their beliefs,  and what they are passionate about. Not for their cute outfits or the cool products they share. While I love seeing those posts too, I really want to feel like I’m getting to know the person behind the blog, or the instagram account. If I feel like thats not possible, then no outfit cute enough will keep me around.

So that is it my friends. I’m just here to share my life, through every loop and turn. And I hope you stick around because you like what I write, or how I write it. The outfit posts, the recipes, my feelings about X, and 7 reasons you should start doing Y, they are all me, and they are here to stay.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 12.59.22 PM

 

5 thoughts on “Why it’s Okay to Blog Without a Niche

  1. I absolutely agree with what you say! for so long I was worried that I cover too many topics and now i see that that is absolutely fine 🙂 My readers LOVE my blog and that what matter most!

    Like

Leave a Reply

